Personal Independence Payment

What is Personal Independence Payment (PIP)

Personal Independence Payment (PIP) started to replace Disability Living Allowance (DLA) April 2013. PIP will be introduced in a phased programme. PIP will replace DLA for all new claims from June 2013.


Who is eligible for PIP?

This new benefit will apply to all new claims for people currently aged16 to 64. People who suffer with a long term health condition or disability which is expected to last for 12 months or longer will be able to claim.

Like DLA, PIP is assessed on how your disability or health condition affects your ability to live independently. It does not matter what condition you have but separate rules apply if you are terminally ill.

 PIP is made up of two parts known as components: The Daily Living Component and the Mobility Component

Each component consists of a standard and enhanced rate. You may be eligible to get one or both components.

Claimants who are in receipt of DLA won’t automatically switch to PIP as it is a new benefit with different conditions of entitlement. It is possible you may not eligible to this benefit regardless of how long you have been in receipt of DLA. Or you may be entitled to a different rate which may be lower or higher than your current entitlement. 

What if I am below 16?

You will continue to get DLA till you have reached the minimum age of 16. Your parent or guardian will be contacted before your 16th birthday to invite you to claim for PIP.


What if I am over 65?

If you are aged 65 and over on or after April 8 2013, you will continue to get DLA as long as you are eligible. If you're aged 65 or over and not getting DLA, you may be able to get Attendance Allowance instead.